Connect with us


Akufo-Addo names first batch of 13 ministers



President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on Tuesday named 13 would be members of his cabinet.

The President revealed what he called the first batch of ministers at a press briefing at the Flagstaff House, adding that the second and the third batch would be revealed in the course of the week.

Topping the list of ministers is the head of the New Patriotic Party, NPP, transition team, Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, as a Senior Minister.

The President, who poured encomiums of Osafo-Maafo, said Ghana needs his experience to help turn the economy around.

Others are Mr Albert Kan-Dapaah for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul for Defence, Mr Alan Kyerematen for Trade and Industry and Mr Ken Ofori Atta for Finance.

On the choice of Ofori Atta, President Akufo-Addo said: “We need somebody of finance who has the range, who has the capacity and insight to move mortal economies”.

Others on the ministerial list include Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto for Agriculture; MP for Dormaa Central and the chairman of the Public Account Committee in the last Parliament, Dr Kwaku Agyeman Manu for Health, Mr Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko for Energy, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh for education and the former Deputy Minority Leader and MP for Nandom, Ambrose Dery, as Interior Minister.

Read Latest: Ghana News