Connect with us


Parliament names ministers designate in committee to screen ministerial nominees



In what may amount to being a judge over your case, the Ghanaian Parliament, on Tuesday, named two ministers designate as members of the committee saddled with the responsibility to screen President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees.

The committee, headed by the First Deputy Speaker, Joe Osei Wusu, has Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Education minister designate and Dominic Nitiwul, Defense Minister designate, as members.

The constitution of the committee followed a letter by President Akufo-Addo to the Speaker, Mike Oquaye, requesting Parliament to speed up the screening of the nominees so they can get to work in earnest.

Other members of the Committee from the Majority New Patriotic Party (NPP) side are Sarah Adjoa Sarfo, Ursula Owusu and Titus Glover while Mahama Ayariga, Muntaka Mubarack, Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, Alhassan Suhini, Samuel Okujeto-Ablakwa and Haruna Iddrisu, are some of the members from the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Read Latest: Ghana News